A woman looks at the Facebook logo on an iPad in this photo illustration taken June 3, 2018. REUTERS/Regis Duvignau/Illustration/Files

In yet another user data breach, Facebook has recently revealed that a bug might have exposed the photos of up to 6.8 million users during a 12-day period in September. Third-party apps might have had access to photos which users had not given access permission to. To this, Facebook explained in a blog post that, “When someone gives permission for an app to access their photos on Facebook, we usually only grant the app access to photos people share on their timeline”.

To make matters worse, these are the photos which were uploaded but not posted. To know more, in all, 6.8 million users and 1500 apps developed by 876 developers might have been affected by the bug. Only those apps with access to the photos API and those whom users gave authorized access to were affected.

facebook-photo-app-bug

The company added that the bug was in present for a period of two weeks, beginning from September 13 to 25. With this, Facebook also added that the API bug affected users who used Facebook login and gave permission to third-party apps to access their photos.

Well now for the tensed users, Facebook has created a page which users might visit and check to see whether their photos were exposed or not.

For this,in order to check, if the account was compromised, users need to visit the page and then share the account details. Once users would click on the link, a new web page would open up, there users need to click on the login and enter their email ID and password and check if their photos were exposed or not. A small box at the bottom would tell users if their account was affected or not.

fb-2

To those whose photos have not been affected, would show users the message, “Your Facebook account has not been affected by this issue and the apps you use did not have access to your other photos”.

The company is in fact recommending users to log into any apps where they have shared their Facebook photos to check which photos they have access to. This page also consist of a link which would help the users in managing their apps in a better manner on Facebook.