Google Chrome has decided for new ways of protection for the Windows users. Recently it has introduced three new changes to Chrome for Windows to further improve the browser’s malware detection and removal capabilities.

Even while holding onto the existing security options like Safe Browsing, the new options will make the users cautious while changing extensions or when the software bundles unwanted contents to downloads, and while also upgrading its ability to detect threats.

Image Credit: TechRepublic

As per a recent blog post, the company is mainly focusing on targeting malware and malicious extensions that reshape the search results to redirect users to unintended pages, inject ads, and lock users on ad-filled sites.

Further, it has also redesigned Chrome’s clean up feature, offering a shortcut for restoring the browser’s default settings after any contamination. It would immediately show an alert when the browser would detect any unwanted software and with that also offering a way for its removal. Chrome users have been previously acquainted with the standalone Chrome Cleanup tool for the removal of harmful software.

As per Google, it has redesigned the alerts which would make it easier to see which is the software which has been removed.

Apart from this redesigning, Chrome Cleanup have also received a technology upgrade. While working with the detection focused IT security company, ESET, this new version of Cleanup will detect and remove the unwanted software. Even it seems like it is an all-encompassing antivirus, it would minus only the software that would breach Google’s unwanted software policy.

Unwanted software or extension changes often have subtle effects, like modified ads or search results. In this regard, Philippe Rivard, product manager for Chrome Cleanup, regarded in a blog post, “But in some cases, the changes are so severe that they can make the web unusable—people are redirected to unwanted sites full of ads, and it can be next to impossible to navigate away from these pages.”

The blog also added that almost over a million users have used the hijacked settings feature in the past month to prevent consent-free changes. Now, when the process is actually being initiated, Rivard finally added that “tens of millions” of users would be able to resort to the features over the next few days.

3 COMMENTS

  1. I am really impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your weblog.
    Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself?
    Anyway keep up the excellent quality writing, it
    is rare to see a nice blog like this one today.

  2. Hello! I could have sworn I’ve visited your blog before but after going through a few of
    the articles I realized it’s new to me. Nonetheless,
    I’m definitely pleased I stumbled upon it and I’ll be book-marking it and
    checking back often!

Comments are closed.