Instagram now introduces a new feature with its recent update. This allows users to upload any video or picture from their library regardless of whether it was taken within the past 24 hours. As a matter of fact, previously this kind of posting included the processes of re-saving, taking a screenshot or editing the metadata on the image or video so that it would appear as new as fresh in the library, tricking Instagram into thinking that the user had just got hold of some new content.

Even after its public release, this feature might not change much about the stories experience. As one user has clearly pointed out it has been always much easier to post older photos as Stories simply by screenshotting or editing them.

Now this update by Instagram is regarded to be a move copied by Snapchat, mainly featuring around the concept of ‘throwbacks’. Snapchat had a similar feature launched in June 2016, naming it as ‘memories’.

Apart from this, Instagram has also added a number of new features in the recent past in lieu of its fierce competition with arch-rival Snapchat.

Last month the firm unveiled another update to the app, with which the users would be now able to ‘Go Live’ with friends and creating live broadcasts with multiple people.

Videos created with this Go Live feature can be saved to the user’s phone or shared with followers on their story. First tested in April among a small percentage of its users, this is a part of an expansion into a live video that Facebook, which owns Instagram, hopes would allow the app to keep up with the competition.

Image Credit: DailyMail

Coming back to this new feature, now if the user adds an image or clip to the story which is more than 24 hours old, it would tag along with a new date sticker, hinting of it as an older post.

Also, the other stickers provide the user with options such as to rotate, move and resize the date, stamp or delete the entire thing.

To this entire thing, Instagram finally regarded that, “Starting today, you can add photos and videos to your story, even if you took them more than 24 hours ago. Now, you’ll be able to easily find and choose anything from your camera roll and share it instantly with friends”.