WhatsApp-Delete-Feature

The awaited feature to delete messages from WhatsApp has finally arrived for regular. Interestingly the user has to delete the message within seven minutes of sending the message. Failing to do so in time will mean that the message cannot be deleted.

When it comes to deleting the messages, you get two options. “One is Delete for Everyone” and other is “Delete For Me”.

In case of the first one “Delete for Everyone”, the user can Delete messages if a message has been sent to many or one receiver. On deleting the message, the recipient gets a message saying ‘This message was deleted in their chat’.

Similarly If Someone has deleted the message, the user will be notified of the same. However, WhatsApp does say that if the deletion, is not successful, the sender will not be notified and the message can be viewed by the recipients.

For this action, the user who has sent the message has to press on the message. A delete option appears on the menu. This further gives the option of ‘Delete for everyone’.

One can also select several messages to delete them together.

Note that the message to be deleted successfully, the recipients must be using the latest version of the WhatsApp.

The second feature is ‘Delete for Me’. Here the user has too long press the message. The delete option appears on the menu. Following which, the user hits the ‘Delete for Me option’. In doing so, the message will be deleted from a user’s chat history, but it will remain in the recipient’s inbox.

This feature is available on iOS, Android phones, and Windows phone users.

This deletion can function if messages are in the text, videos, GIFs, pictures, voice messages, a quoted message (feature expected) and status replies. The option to recall stickers is yet to appear. But, the update is not available for Symbian users.