WhatsApp to become more user-friendly. Reportedly, this micro-blogging platform had started rolling out a ‘Predicted Upload’ feature to both Android and iPhone, for its more than 2 billion stable users.
Now, according to a report by WABetaInfo, a fan site that tracks changes in beta versions of the app, this feature is reportedly rolling out widely on the WhatsApp for iOS stable version 2.18.61, and in a much more limited manner for WhatsApp for Android stable version 2.18.156. However, these features couldn’t be replicated on the stable versions.
How does this Predicted Upload work?
The report explained that WhatsApp would be now able to predict when a photograph is going to be sent in a chat. In fact, the purpose of this feature is to upload in advance photos to the server, ensuring that they arrive sooner than before when users have finally decided to press send.
Of course, as before, users would be able to edit the photos they send over WhatsApp. Well, the Predicted Upload feature is meant to preload photos on the server on the off-chance they are not edited. This feature works for both single photo and multi-photo uploads. To see the feature in action, WABetaInfo reports, users would need to select multiple photos for upload from their Camera Roll/ Gallery, using the attach button.
Once users press Done or OK (on iOS and Android respectively), they would be presented with an Edit Photo option. They should wait about 10 seconds on this screen, for it is the time when the feature gets to work and uploads the photo(s) to the WhatsApp server in the background. After users press send, without editing the photos, users should be able to see the photos almost instantly gain a single grey tick in the chat window. This indicates that the photo is now on WhatsApp servers.
For the users, to be sure that they have the feature, they just need to check if the clock symbol either changes instantaneously, i.e. 0.0001 seconds says WABetaInfo, or is not visible at all. Now, if the users see the clock symbol for any appreciable amount of time, this means that they don’t have the Predicted Upload feature. The mileage of double ticks and blue double ticks appearing would vary on the recipient’s network.