WhatsApp is in the news again. This time it has modified its ‘Delete for Everyone’ feature, with respect to the time limit in which users can revoke messages. To be clear, as per the reports by WABetaInfo, users would now get a window of up to 13 hours, 8 minutes and 16 seconds in which they must accept the delete request. This step appears to be in lieu of random delete requests for older messages.
In its recent tweets, WABetaInfo states that the ‘Recipient Limit’ change is to ensure that all members of a conversation would receive the revoke request for a message within the stipulated time period, so that messages could be deleted. To be more specific, within the 13 hours, 8 minutes and 16 seconds limit, the revoke request should be accepted by all members of a conversation, before the ‘Delete for Everyone’ feature sets into effect.
WhatsApp has updated the “Recipient limit”.
What does it mean? If you delete a message for everyone, but the recipient won’t receive the revoke request within 13h, 8m, 16s (maybe because the phone was off), the message will **not** be revoked.
— WABetaInfo (@WABetaInfo) October 11, 2018
As per previous rules, the delete request needed to be accepted within 1 hour, 8 minutes and 16 seconds from all parties. The ‘Delete for Everyone’ feature was introduced in late last year, with a revoke message limit of 7 minutes.
In addition, this Facebook-owned messaging service is also set to introduce Stickers, in addition, to more interactive features. It could also add a new list of emojis, that have already been seen on iOS keyboards.