WhatsApp is in the news again. Right now its been working on a trail of features for its messaging platform. Where the previous reports have already speculated about the roll out of picture-in-picture (PiP) mode as well as introduce Stickers, the Facebook-owned platform is now reported to be working on latest features like Vacation mode and Silent mode for better chatting experience.

As per the latest report by Wabetainfo, WhatsApp is working on a Vacation mode feature, and this would help to improve the archived chat experience. Currently, now when users archive a chat, WhatsApp automatically unarchives it once a new message is received from the same chat. But with this new vacation mode feature, the archived chats won’t appear on the WhatsApp window and would remain as they are, even if a new message appears. This further refers to the fact that if one wants to read the new message, they would have to open the chat manually from the archived chats.

The report in fact stated that, “Enabling Vacation Mode, muted archived chats won’t be unarchived until you will unmute or unarchive them, so this is something users are asking since WhatsApp has added the Archive Chat feature”. The cited source added that this feature is currently under development and WhatsApp would soon introduce this feature to both iOS and Android (in future).

In addition, there is an inclusion of a silent mode feature, that hides the app badge for muted chats. Now this one is already available and active by default. This new feature hides a notification count on the WhatsApp’s app icon for chats in mute mode. Currently, for the users who haven’t received the update yet, they might as well figure out the  notification count/dots for chats in mute mode too.

Moving ahead, WhatsApp is also planning to add an account linking support for social media platforms like Instagram and Facebook. The Linked Accounts option would be located under the Profile Settings. The cited source stated that “the Linked Accounts feature will help the user to recover the password. It will allow to automatically share your status updates in Instagram (that’s very useful for Businesses).”

Besides, WhatsApp has also modified its delete for everyone feature, and this is expected to be rolled out in the coming days. Now with this latest update, if a recipient does not receive the notification regarding the ‘delete request’ or the ‘revoke request’ in 13 hours, 8 minutes, and 16 seconds, one would not be able to delete the sent message.